Robert Peel Primary School


Robert Peel Primary School is seeking to recruit 3 Parent Governors

Dear Parents/Guardians

We are currently looking to recruit new Parent Governors to join our friendly Governing Body. Our Governors come from a range of different backgrounds and experiences but all share a common interest of wanting the best possible education for the children at Robert Peel. Below is some further information about the role of a Governor. 


We would be delighted to hear from anyone who:
•    Is interested in children’s education and the performance of the school
•    Has financial and business management experience
•    Is community spirited and would like to represent the school and local area
•    Has spare time and the energy for the role and is able to work well as part of a team 

•    Has an enquiring mind and the confidence to ask questions and debate issues that affect the        school

•    Can consider matters objectively and make informed judgements


This volunteer position is open to parents and guardians of children who attend Robert Peel and will be elected by parents.  


What is the role of the Governing Body? 
•    Helping to set and review the school’s strategic direction and agreeing targets for                         improvement
•    Holding the Headteacher and school leaders to account for the educational performance of the school and its children
•    Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure public money is well            spent


What does the role offer? 
•    A chance to develop your own personal skills
•    Access to a programme of free training in respect of education/governance matters
•    A sense of achievement in helping make a difference to children reaching their potential 
•    The support and guidance from fellow Governors


In looking to fill these vacancies we are particularly interested in applications from people with finance/budgetary experience, premises management and employment legislation. Please do not be put off if you do not have these skills though. What is more important is enthusiasm, interest and the willingness to learn. If you are interested or know of somebody else who would be, then please contact the school office. 


If you would like to discuss any aspects of the role before submitting an application please leave your contact details with the school office and we will be more than happy to call you to discuss your questions. Governors are essential to the effectiveness and success of the school and it is an extremely rewarding and fulfilling role. 


Applying for the role is simple, please complete the form below and return it to school by midday on Monday 7th June. If we receive more applications than there are vacancies, a secret ballot will be carried out. We will inform you closer to the time if we have to do this.


Please think about taking on the role, or suggesting someone who will do it well. We need committed Parent Governors to make the Governing Body as effective as it can be.



Yours sincerely 

Tony Angell
Chair of Governors

The role of a Governor has been described as that of a ‘Critical Friend’.  Governors are volunteers drawn from the staff, parents and wider community of the school.  

Governors endeavour to get to know the school well by visiting it regularly and supporting events.


The role of the governor includes:

  • Setting the school's aims and policies 
  • Improving standards of teaching and achievement 
  • Setting the school's budget plan and monitoring expenditure 
  • Taking part in the process of interviewing and appointing teachers and support staff
  • Acting as a link between the local community and the school 
  • Dealing with complaints about the school

Governors serve for terms of up to four years, but they may serve for longer if re-elected. The Full Board of the Governing Body meets approximately five times in each school year, but a lot of the detailed work is entrusted to committees who report back to the Full Board. 
Committees meet approximately once each half term.  The main committees are Standards, Curriculum, Inclusion & Pupils and Finance, Personnel & Buildings.

Chair of Governors – Tony Angell (Trust Governor)
Headteacher – Liesl Ganney
Mick James (Associate Governor – Deputy Head) 
Shelley Bainborough (Co-opted Governor) 
Helen Bremner (Staff Governor)
Terry Knagg (Local Authority Governor)

Chris Robson (Trust Governor)
Rebecca Wood (Associate Governor - Staff Member)


Parent  Governor Vacancies

Link Roles

Safeguarding Governor – Tony Angell
Provision/SEND Governor – Chris Robson

Early Years Link Governor - Terry Knagg

Curriculum Link Governors - Tony Angell & Shelley Bainborough


Finance & Premises Committee
Shelley Bainborough - Chair  of Committee

Mick James
Liesl Ganney
Tony Angell
Chris Robson

Terry Knagg
Pay Committee
Tony Angell 
Shelley Bainborough
Chris Robson

Liesl Ganney
Standards, Curriculum, Inclusion & Pupils
Tony Angell - Chair  of Committee
Chris Robson
Mick James

Helen Bremner
Terry Knagg
Liesl Ganney
Rebecca Wood
Clerk to Governors
Michelle Devine - Devine Education & Clerking Consultancy

Governing Body Structure

Governor Visit Policy

Governor Attendance 2019-2020